National Law Schools

 New Delhi.

Asal Baat News.

The total number of National Law Schools in the country are 24 and the number of students studying in the said schools are 3080.The National Law Universities (NLUs) have been established through respective State enactments and the Central Government has no role in the matter.

The curriculum of the National Law Universities (NLUs) are drawn up by them. The nature and the format of the syllabus besides theoretical classes on various laws and jurisprudence also include interdisciplinary research, clinical courses, internships etc. The structure of the academic year at different NLUs are designed in such way that allows students to undertake research and internships for the purpose of gaining professional practical experience, thereby inculcating a holistic understanding of the law in students. Further, the internship component seeks to ensure that students obtain an insight into, and are afforded maximum exposure to the workplace by facilitating students to take internships with judges, senior advocates, law firms, international organisations, NGOs, PSUs, corporate houses, commissions, ministries, state departments etc.

The Central Government also organizes internship programme for law students with the purpose to acquaint them and enhance their capacity in the working of the Government, in the field of research and referencing work, legal advice in various specialized fields of law such as constitutional and administrative law, finance sector laws, economic laws, labour laws, conveyancing, arbitration and contract law etc.

            This information was given by the Union Minister of Law & Justice, Shri Kiren Rijiju, in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.